Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Landon Nature Trail out of Topeka KS

42K views 417 replies 9 participants last post by  slakjak 
#1 ·
Anyone ride this lately? I lost track of where the trail ended and the pasture started around 89th, around mile 12 or so.

#77 ·
Good to see so many other riders in the area. I moved to Manhattan in March and rode at Perry quite a bit this summer. I will most likely be offering up my services for trail maintenance starting this spring. I think I will have to check out Dornwood and the mansion trails sometime. Looks like they're about the same driving distance for me. I've been riding for two years now so I'm no expert but I can hold my own. Would love to meet up with someone sometime and hit the trails. I will definitely be going either tomorrow or Sunday, maybe once more after that this year and then hitting it again in the spring once it warms up.

#79 ·
Welcome IDkid. I certainly want to get onto Perry. I'm at the Governors Residence Sunday mornings but the times are always uncertain as they depend on when the Amtrak train clears out of Topeka. So if you see a Toyota Tacoma (silver or gray?) with the pictures of two grandsons on the front license plate parked on 6th by the entrance to the State Park by it, I'm out there somewheres.

#81 ·
If you guys ride today, I suggest that you put on your knobbiest tires, and lower the pressure. The rocks and roots at most places will be guh-reazy. Parts of D'wood will be frustrating, and the rocky technical parts at the Gov's will be dangerous if you aren't confident/experienced. Be careful out there. That said, this is a perfect day for the dirt at LRT, and you won't have to change tires or worry. If the sun comes out for awhile disregard the suggestions above.

If it rains tonight, PM me, as I will likely ride the Landon to the South.

#85 ·