mtbr member

Did anyone ride or wished they had rode the Black Hills Back 40 this year? (2012)

My two boys and I rode at this years inaugural race. It was a blast. They claim 90% single track which I think is fairly accurate, and was told there was over 5,000 feet of climbing; and it sure felt like it. While the amount of different trails I have rode is limited to about 10, this was in my opinion the best trail I have ever ridden, and the most fun as well. Let me know what you thought about your experience there or ask me questions about my experience even if only you wish you had gotten to go this year.

Taken from the race trail. We later rode around to and across the open field in the upper left.
    Did anyone ride or wished they had rode the Black Hills Back 40 this year? (2012)-0728121048a.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    We didn't know about it over here in Mitchell,SD until afterwards. I don't think I could have done it yet since I just started riding mid-June, but there are several guys that I ride our local single track with that were bummed that they didn't know about it

A bunch of us are heading to Custer/deadwood in 2 1/2 weeks for the Michelson trail trek and are thinking about checking out the 5-0 route thinking the trail will be pretty visible after this weekend. I look forward to getting into the hills since we just have small hills by our lake.

mtbr member