mtbr member

Wrist mounted battle royal!!! Suunto Ambit or Garmin Fenix?

So the both of these seem to do exactly what I want. GPS, HRM, bike cadence attachment thingies, they're pretty geeky, I can have waypoints set when I wonder off into the wilderness.

The Ambit is a little more up front, but when you add the price of a HRM band to the Garmin...well...it gets closer

Both are ANT+, so that is good. Garmin claims a slightly better battery life.

I've used garmin software before (my wife has one of their cycling computers), and while I'm not overly impressed, it is usable. And it may be slightly better now. I have zero experience with Suunto.

So anyone have opinions? A favorite? Hate one or the other? I'm even open to other suggestions, but it has to have all the same features...and be wrist-worn.

Wrist mounted battle royal!!! Suunto Ambit or Garmin Fenix?

I believe the fenix will only display current hr. no max, avg, or zones. No training functions. I am looking for a watch gps and hrm as an upgrade from my forerunner 205. I think the 310xt will get me what I want plus a few extras for a reasonable price.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    I don't have experience with either of those, but this guy's very thorough reviews really helped me make a decision on a piece of equipment awhile back (incase you haven't stumbled across these already).
    Suunto Ambit In-Depth Review | DC Rainmaker

Garmin Fenix In-Depth Review | DC Rainmaker

mtbr member
    Aug 2005

Re: Wrist mounted battle royal!!! Suunto Ambit or Garmin Fenix?

I tried both of these out and both watches have their strengths. My decision was based on the need/want for fitness functions over navigation features. The Ambit stayed.