Thread: Trimming a ride

mtbr member

Trimming a ride

Hey ya'll. I've been using a Garmin 705 over the last 2 weeks and I really like it. Question though, is there a way to trim the start and finish off a ride on garmin connect? I usually start my rides right where I live and would prefer for someone to not see that (hey, there are a lot of wackos out there). I don't want to wait till I get to the trailhead to start though or finish there because then I lose the HR data on the trip from/back to home.

So far I really like the computer information, but am struggling with trying to upload maps to it. My unit was purchased through REI when they had that deal including city maps (which I don't need). I need more topo info as I'm just getting into mtb and seeing the upcomming contour lines would be a huge help. I've now bought TopoFushion Pro, but so far can't figure out how to get the maps into the gps.

Thx. BTW, Slocaus - you're the main reason I bought this, after seeing all you've posted. Thank you, because this has not dispointed one bit!

1: Garmin Connect does not allow you to trim bits off your ride. Sporttracks does. Other programs will work, too, but not Garmin Connect and apparently not Garmin Training Center, either.

2: Topofusion does not put maps into the GPS (even though it is very good for visualizing). Maps need to be in Garmin's .img format, which is vector graphics only. www.gpsfiledepot.com maps will transfer to your Edge, but you need a program that can handle them. I use Mapsource since I have it already. Not sure what other programs can handle that as I don't use them. Since you got the City Nav maps, you at least have Mapsource which will handle gpsfiledepot maps easily.

3: If you aren't really good at reading maps and using a compass already, I strongly suggest learning. The GPS tech builds on many of those basic lessons, so if you learn with a map & compass, most of that knowledge can be transferred over to a GPS very easily.

trail rat