Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Noob to GPS - looking to buy

I have NO knowledge of GPS and have been cruising this forum trying to learn a little bit. There's a lot of terminology I need to learn as most of what I read was confusing. Also didn't know you have to "load" maps or something.

I'm not looking for anything fancy to measure HR, cadence and whatnot just want the following

-be able to see a map of my ride on my computer
    -distance
    -climbing info
    -pacing
    -mph
    -maybe calories but I guess that needs a HRM
    -good battery life (I try using my phone and I had to stop because it killed my phones battery each try)

If there is something out there that is a decent "fitness" gps within my budget, I may be up for that. I understand there may be accessory purchases to use the "fitness" features.
    I don't mind having the basic gps and then buying the add-ons at a later time.

Would like to keep it under $200

Any suggerstions?

under $200 limits you. None of the new models will fit that, but if your budget were $250, it might open things up more. As it is, you'd be looking at the older Edge 305 or 705. Or possibly the Edge 205 or 605, which are not compatible with additional sensors. You don't necessarily need any extra sensors to get a calorie readout, but you do need a model with fitness functions for that. And even though my Oregon 450 has some basic fitness features, it's not enough for a calorie readout. That needs a fitness-specific GPS (Forerunner or Edge). And FWIW, no calorie report on a GPS is going to be worth a damn. They're all inaccurate.

Otherwise, your criteria really don't narrow things down much. Where do you want to mount it, if at all? What kind of batteries do you want? How small do you want it? Do you want a map display at all? Do you want to load basemaps onto it?

mtbr member