mtbr member
    Aug 2007

newbie question about garmin us topo 24k west parks maps.

Im new to gps.....

i bought the garmin 60csx and the US topo 24k maps. I was hoping it would provide me with all the maps i need of trails here in los angeles. But, after installing it, i found that only a few parks were included....and the ones i was interested in were not there. Like Angeles crest area, or Santa clarita area like the santa suzanna mts or even in Orange County trails.

Am i missing something in the topo maps? Do i need to buy more maps or unlock maps? Is there other 3rd party products that i can install to my 60Csx?

Thanks

The 24k maps only cover the areas listed on the box...no more, no less. Don't ever EXPECT digital maps to include extensive trail data. Feel lucky if you get any, but if you want trails, you have to find files other people have recorded and uploaded (like at motionbased or other sites).

If you need coverage of areas not covered by the 24k maps, then get the 100k topos that cover the whole US. It's not as detailed, but good enough for general reference purposes. If you know your way around computers and maps, you can put together your own topos you can load onto your GPS, but it's a very labor-intensive project to undergo. There's a discussion here about using raster imagery on your Garmin. Again, more conversions to get it there (and a respectable computer).

You have options. Some involve money, and some involve labor and knowledge. I've been around the GPS and GIS scene enough to know I shouldn't expect much from commercial mapping products, but most newbies don't and get frustrated. Your GPS has limitations. Become familiar with them so you don't get disappointed in the future.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    crap....i was afraid you'd say that.

So, the easy route is the money route i guess....so, are there actually 3rd party software i can buy that sells maps of specific areas i need?