mtbr member
    Feb 2008

New guy bike computer questions...

Hey all, so I think I'm getting interested about purchasing a bike computer to keep track of things. What are some features besides distance, ave. speed, max speed, current speed, and gps do these things have? I'm just kind of curious so I can decide what I would like to look for. Also, what are some good brands/models out there that are a decent price for what they are worth? Another thing, do you guys prefer wireless or wired? Pros and cons? Thanks.

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Pretty open question. Stick with the major brands, especially if wireless, and check the MTBR reviews section before buying, and you won't go wrong.

My favorite feature is elevation gain. For me, this is a much better way to judge a ride than using mileage alone. I've got a VDO MC1.0+ wireless (link) that I've been using for maybe 5 or 6 years now, and I love it.

I recently bought a GPS receiver and though it duplicates most of the functions of the bike computer, I only use it when want to map a trail. It's big and clunky (yet relatively small for a GPS), and it sucks battery. For my purposes, overkill for use as a dedicated bike computer.

Pros and cons? Wireless is great but requires at least one extra battery, and battery life overall is impacted. The con to wireless would be that it would suck if your connection isn't working, for whatever reason (dead battery or some kind of interference). But I've had damaged cables on wired units that have caused me more headache than wireless ever has, and wired computers are one more item to futz with when performing fork maintenance.