mtbr member
    Feb 2008

New Garmin 705 owner - please help!!

I just bought a Garmin 705 and I'm new to the whole bike GPS scene. The main reason I bought is was for navigation -training data is of seconday importance right now. Since I'm new to the area, my thinking was that I could go with other riders who know the trails then record the route in order to be able to find it again. Also, I wanted to download trails from various websites.

Now that I've been playing with the 705 for a week I'm totally confused. I have used in-car navigations devices for a long time now (latest is a Tom Tom 910) and find the Garmin system to be totally un-user friendly compared to those. Not to mention that the owners manual is a complete joke and reading the various threads here has not really helped either. I'm hoping some experts can help me???

1. Saving .gpx files to a mico SD card or 705 memory? I have downloaded a .gpx file. Do I need to save this on a seperate SD card or can I put it into memory? If I already have an SD card in the unit (i.e. road maps for Europe), where do I save the .gpx file? When I plug the 705 into my iMac (with an SD card in the unit), it comes up as two mass storage devices. Also, into which folder/sub folder should I put the file? I have noticed that if I put it into some subfolders, it won't be recognized.

2. How do you actually navigate a saved route/track? Do I have to ride to the first wavepoint and then hit start? If my ride is a loop, how does the unit know which direction to go in? How do I get the unit to guide me to the start of the trailhead, then to the next way point? If I go off the track, what is supposed to happen to get me back because it seems like nothing does?Can somone please post a step-by-step process??