Professional Sinecure

My 705 - two hour old BRICK

Software Missing

Following the instructions I downloaded Garmin's updater software, hooked up my brand new 705, and now it gives me a software missing message when I turn it on. The downloader now says the update file is corrupt.

Garmin is of course closed. For the holiday weekend. So now I either have a $500 brick for the weekend, or I see just how amenable Cabella's is to taking back this item. As I was the one who hooked a working unit up to garmin's downloader and now it doesn't work, I don't know how willing I would be to take it back. ( I am a retail manager at a different big box store and I'm pretty sure what I would tell me.)

Anyone have suggestions?

Schlubb
    Sinecureal Services Ltd. - Nobody Doesn't Better
    (it's Shluh-buh)

Lucky...
    Apr 2008
    Ummm- "Mr Cabella's employee- this brand new, $500 toy does not work. I would like a replacement, please."

Cabella's will RTV the 705 (as they should), you'll get a new device, and everyone is happy. The employee in the returns line won't give you a second look. No need to go into the nitty-gritty details, IMHO. Garmin's software bricked your 705, and they should have to replace it (whether the exchange occurs with you or Cabella's is immaterial).

Professional Sinecure

Exactly what happened

Cabela's didn't even think twice about exchanging it.

Tell ya this much, I don't plan on using the updater any time soon...

McSchlubb
    (it's Shluh-buh)

trail rat
    Quote Originally Posted by Schlubbe

McSchlubb
    When this happened on two different occasions on my 305, I did a hard reset and then ran the updater again, after rebooting my computer, and having no other programs open or USB cables connected, and it reloaded the software fine.

Given all the issues with the 705, and the thread that the update fixed many bugs, I'd opt for the update myself. But then I am waiting for you guys to solve all these things before I upgrade from my 305.