Thread: Map Scales ?

mtbr member

New question here. Topo Map Scales ?

MY Older Nat Geo TOPO State series maps have 7.5' detail, at level 5 of 1:15375. I am a map Newbie and am a bit confused, is this more or less resolution than 1:24000 scale of the Newest NG Topo maps, would i want to UPgrade to the Newest ones or do i have higher quality maps in this software?
    IN fact, mine are only 4 years old or so, has Nat Geo changed their map resolutions in these newer State series?
    Last edited by UN-COG-KNEE-TOE; 09-08-2009 at 09:14 AM.

As far as I know, the state series have always been and always will be 1:24k scale. Only difference would be the Back Roads Explorer package which is 1:100k, and Alaska which is so big that 1:24k would require massive amounts of work to create and storage. That one will probably get to 1:24k someday, though. The more populated areas usually get more map detail first (consider aerial photos).

I like my NG Topo! software, but I find I don't use it terribly often because it doesn't handle "tracks" very well. It can download them, but to put one back into the GPS, it automatically converts to a route. I use it more often to print my own paper maps for hiking, because it prints better than most other software.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by NateHawk
    As far as I know, the state series have always been and always will be 1:24k scale. Only difference would be the Back Roads Explorer package which is 1:100k, and Alaska which is so big that 1:24k would require massive amounts of work to create and storage. That one will probably get to 1:24k someday, though. The more populated areas usually get more map detail first (consider aerial photos).