mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Lezyne Power GPS Dropping Segments

I've been using a Lezyne Power GPS for the past two months or so and I have noticed that it drops or misses segments on Strava regularly and consistently. At first I thought it was just GPS drift on a particular ride, but after some regular use, it drops the same segments every time regardless of conditions, tree cover, etc. My iPhone and others' Garmins do not seem to do this. I have used it with both GPS and GPS+Glonass with the same issue. I'm at the point where I'm tempted to buy a Garmin, but then I read about data losses and it makes wonder if I should even worry about Strava segments at all and just stick with the Lezyne. Anyone have any ideas as to why this happens with the Lezyne and not other devices? Do they use different satellites? Is it potentially more accurate than the others and therefore showing slightly different start points that do not match the older data upon which the segments are based? I do not see any way to adjust the data collection frequency with the Lezyne either. Any thoughts are appreciated.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    jaml,
    Sorry I won't be able to help specifically-I use a Super GPS but I do not use Strava. But I do have a question for you. When you sync your data to GPS Root does all the ride data show including the missing data that does not show in Strava? My suggestion would be to contact Lezyne support with this issue but be patient sometimes they are very quick to respond other times multiple emails may need to be sent. Would like to hear if there is a solution.

mtbr member
    What you could do is open up one of the original .fit files from the Lezyne Power GPS, in order to have a look the raw data that is being recorded. That could give a clue as to what is happening. It would let you see what the recording rate is and if there are any GPS dropouts or other issues visible.