mtbr member

HRM on 305 not working

I am new to the GPS system, I recently bought a new Garmin 305 with HRM and have yet to get the HRM to work. Is there a trick to it working, what could I be doing wrong with it? I sorry this is so basic but I thought all I had to do was put the chest strap on and it would sync up with the GPS. Thanks for any help.
    2013 SC Tallboy LTC
    2013 SC TRC
    2012 Jackal
    2014 Heckler

GeoMan
    Try a new battery (CR2032, about $2) and re-pair the HRM to the Edge.
    GeoMan
    We Ride!
    www.geomangear.com

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dirtbiker
    I am new to the GPS system, I recently bought a new Garmin 305 with HRM and have yet to get the HRM to work. Is there a trick to it working, what could I be doing wrong with it? I sorry this is so basic but I thought all I had to do was put the chest strap on and it would sync up with the GPS. Thanks for any help.

Did you ever get it to work? I have the exact same problem. I even replaced the battery and still could not get it to work. Then i put a third battery in and read an FAQ on their website that said it wont work if its near a 2.4 mhz wireless signal, so i went to my street and it kind of worked. It would come on and off (still around the signals from neighbors wireless routers). so next im going to take it to the woods and see if it comes on and stays on. Seems strange that it doesnt have a on off button, i have no idea how it works or knows when to come on. will keep you posted.

Flyin Pig
    If it kind of worked - have you tried putting water (and salt if the plain water doesn't work) onto the contacts before putting on the HRM?

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by IvanLasston
    If it kind of worked - have you tried putting water (and salt if the plain water doesn't work) onto the contacts before putting on the HRM?
    sliva does the trick also (although it is pretty gross to think about)