Is flexy

GPS noob needs some help

So I ordered myself a 60csx because I like gadgets and have little self control. My issue is I have very little knowledge of handheld GPS stuff and would like to get this thing up and running as soon as I get it. I'd consider myself tech savy but this is a totally new frontier for me so I'm lost. Only uses are going to be riding, hiking and a kayak trip on occasion. Hopefully someone can help me with the following

- I've read the reviews saying the maps that come on it suck so I want to get something to load on the unit right away but don't know which to pick. Are there any alternatives to the outrageougly expensive garmin maps? The garmin site has downloads as well as dvd, I'm guessing the dvd loads on the pc too?(just didn't get that)

- I want to track my rides and routes and such, do I need software to do that or does it come with it? Is there something easy that is third party I can download?

- Can I download routes from somewhere for hikes and rides in new places and use the gps to navigate like the one in my truck?

- Anything else I should know or is there anywhere good to look and get info on this stuff?
    Last edited by njhcx4xlife; 06-17-2009 at 07:18 AM.
    Good People... www.efingersports.com

MTC rep for LPCPCAC
    As you discovered, there is a bit of a learning curve. It is not too steep but it will take a little getting used to. I have the same unit and have been very happy with its performace.
    So, here are a few answers to your questions. Just remember these are not the only possiblilities, just what I do.

- I've read the reviews saying the maps that come on it suck so I want to get something to load on the unit right away but don't know which to pick. Are there any alternatives to the outrageougly expensive garmin maps? The garmin site has downloads as well as dvd, I'm guessing the dvd loads on the pc too?(just didn't get that)