mtbr member
    Dec 2011

GPS data to Strava - Heart Rate data missing (please help)

Let me start by saying that I have searched the forums and the internet without much luck. I have found a few people that mentioned something, but no real solution, so I am reaching out to the MTBR forums for assistance.

I am relatively new to Mtn Biking, and have really been bitten by the bug (my wallet doesnít like it too much). This said, I had a GPA already, and purchased a Heart Rate monitor to link with my GPS to better help my training since I ride solo most of the time. I have very much enjoyed uploading my data to Strava to keep track of my training and compare my stats to other riders, but with my new HR monitor, the data will not upload into Strava. (Itís not the Edge series, so I have to upload the file from my PC rather than direct upload from my GPS).

I read somewhere to try converting the GPX file to a TCX, but Strava will not read that file. I have tried uploading to the Garmin Connect site with no lock (it just sits there and says uploading for hours with no success).

So to my question: Has anyone found a way of uploading a ride, to Strava, from their non Edge series GPS, to include their heart rate data? Any assistance here would be a great help to me.

Thanks in advance!!

sheep in FOX clothing
    I don't have a solution yet, but I'm also trying to come up a way to export HRM to strava from a Timex device.

Which GPS are you working with?

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    Garmin - Dakota 20

I may have a solution, but I need to test this with a ride this week before I post it.

I don't want to give wrong info

Quote Originally Posted by Monkeybutt711 View Post
    Garmin - Dakota 20

I may have a solution, but I need to test this with a ride this week before I post it.

I don't want to give wrong info
    There is an older discussion in here about getting HR data from an Oregon 450. I bet yours is similar

mtbr member
    Dec 2011

Good job!