mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Good "Basic" GPS? Help for a newbie.

I'm new to bike GPS's. I'm only used to them portables for the cars.

I want a GPS for:
    Maps
    Finding my way back if lost
    Trail finding new trails
    Screen can operate with gloves on
    Water/weather proof
    Useful for hiking too

Don't need:
    calorie count
    altitude
    cadence
    HR
    Pretty face
    Strava
    Virtual training partner
    blah blah blah

Any experience appreciated
    We Ride In God's Country!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

GPS's

Garmin Dakota or etrex. The cheapest etrex is less then 100 dollars and will do everything you listed.
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

Quote Originally Posted by Pedalfaraway View Post
    Garmin Dakota or etrex. The cheapest etrex is less then 100 dollars and will do everything you listed.
    It won't do maps. Also gps receivers are pretty useless for finding trails. Do that at home, library, bookstore, etc.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Etrex 10

The Etrex 10 looks like it can handle an upload of a gpx file. it will then display that file as a line. Its not a topo map but it does serve as a basic map. It will also track where you have been making it useful for returning to your starting point.

I disagree the GPS is useless for trail finding. The unit itself cannot find a trail but you can serach websites like strava and G connect and upload gpx files to it of where others have ridden. I do this all the time and it works great when riding in unknown areas. I don't always follow the uploaded course exacly but it gives you an idea of where you are in relation to a trail that you know takes you bacl to the car. makes learning a new trail system much easier and more fun. With the units that I have used you can tell within 15 feet or so if you are off the intended course.

PM me