mtbr member
    Apr 2010

garmin oregon 450t and strava

Hello

I am really new to gps and strava. I have never felt the need for a gps until a 130 mile solo river trip. the maps worked fine, but i thought a gps might be kind of cool. so i got an oregon450t and have not used it much. I also just joined strava. Is there a way to connect the two?

do you download a strava app onto the oregon? Basically a noncomputer geek but very good in the woods is lost with this new technology, how do you do it? is the oregon not a good gps for this type of stuff? I know the oregon is not a fitness gps.

I have only needed a gps one time in my life, and that was to let the forest service know where a body was that was killed in an avalanche.

thanks for the help.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

It will work fine.

Your Oregon can upload files to strava just fine.

All you need to do is record a ride with it, and when you are finished connect the Oregon to your PC with the USB cable. Then go to strava.com, log in, and click the upload activity button in the upper right. If you have not downloaded and installed Garmin Communicator it will prompt you and give you a link that will allow you to do so.
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

Quote Originally Posted by Pedalfaraway View Post
    Your Oregon can upload files to strava just fine.

All you need to do is record a ride with it, and when you are finished connect the Oregon to your PC with the USB cable. Then go to strava.com, log in, and click the upload activity button in the upper right. If you have not downloaded and installed Garmin Communicator it will prompt you and give you a link that will allow you to do so.
    I just tried this with my Oregon and Strava does not recognize it directly. Neither does Garmin Connect. You have to do a manual upload. A couple of ways to do this.

Here's what I do and what I recommend: