Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2010

Is the Garmin Edge 800 a good choice for mountain bikers?

I am debating about buying the Garmin Edge 705 and the Garmin Edge 800. I want to be able to use the device for some car navigation (finding the trail head), on road use and off road use. Some of the reviews say the 800 is easily scratched and not as durable as the 705. Can anyone comment on this? I would not mind buying the newest version, but I do not want to get something that works great on the road and not so well off road.

Thanks,
    Chris

It's not going to work so well in the car, I can tell you that much. You'd be better off buying a cheap car GPS in addition to the bike GPS you wind up choosing.

mtbr dismember

Yes

Quote Originally Posted by clj2289
    Is the Garmin Edge 800 a good choice for mountain bikers?
    Yes, that is what it is designed for.

You know my steez...
    I have no experience with the 800 but I've been using my 305 since 2007 for mountain, road and running. It works great.
    I'm unique, just like everyone else....

trail rat
    There are dozens (probably hundreds) of posts with users experiences on this forum and in the Garmin Forums. You just need to browse a little to find all the information related to your questions.
    CCCMB web - Facebook
    SLO trail maps - conditions

"The physician heals, Nature makes well" - real fortune cookie

3D guy
    I love my edge 800...

- touch screen works with gloves
    - large display with lots of data fields possible
    - good map support (with SC card can easily get road maps for road biking or riding to the trailhead along with topo maps (well rendered in color) on the device)
    - good data recording
    - I like VAM (rate of ascent which I think earlier devices lack) it seems to be grade based but it is a good overview of how fast you are heading up (does lag as the grade calculation is smoothed thus lags a bit)
    - battery life seems good