mtbr member
    Jul 2006

garmin edge 305 vs cat eye stada? which one is correct?

i have been riding with a wireless cateye for a few years and just recently purchased a garmin edge 305, i have been out riding with both of them a few times and at the end the ride the distance between the two computers is always different, the cat eye computer always reads at least a mile longer. i double checked the wheel size on the cat eye and is correct, anyone else have this problem? which one should i believe?

Quote Originally Posted by splitskater
    i have been riding with a wireless cateye for a few years and just recently purchased a garmin edge 305, i have been out riding with both of them a few times and at the end the ride the distance between the two computers is always different, the cat eye computer always reads at least a mile longer. i double checked the wheel size on the cat eye and is correct, anyone else have this problem? which one should i believe?
    How long is the ride? Also, is it really that important? No solution is going to be perfect. All have estimates built in. When programming your cat eye, do you use a preset? If so, that doesn't account for variations in tire heights between brands (making the same 'size' tire). Did you manually calibrate it? Weighted at your riding weight with gear to compress the tires properly?

On the Garmin, what's satellite reception like? Terrain? Trail features? The way the GPS operates, it also has built in estimations of distance.

If you want to know the TRUE distance of the trail, and therefore which device is closest to the right answer, you need one of these:

Short of that, don't sweat the details.

PCC
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005