mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Garmin connect upload

Need help uploading from new garmin fortrex 401 to garmin connect. Have win 7 64 bit, windows explorer, did the download of communicator plug in 4.0.3.0 and I see my 401 detected. I hit upload and get ACTIVE LOG UPLOADING,,, it just keeps spooling never downloads. Tried manual but not sure how exactly it works with gpx, I'm new to that. I did upload on MTBguru which mentioned I had to have the garmin communicator,, that worked!!! I like the garmin connect site the best, so I'm still at it trying to figure it out. Iv'e read maybe change to 34 bit but I'm thinking why? ,, don't want to go that far. And I don't have firefox. Any help, thanks..............

sounds like a question for Garmin.

https://forums.garmin.com/index.php

a manual upload simply requires you to download the data onto your hard drive first, then upload to the GC website. you're going to need to do that eventually to edit some file, anyway. might as well learn now.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by NateHawk View Post
    sounds like a question for Garmin.

https://forums.garmin.com/index.php

a manual upload simply requires you to download the data onto your hard drive first, then upload to the GC website. you're going to need to do that eventually to edit some file, anyway. might as well learn now.
    Nate, I've been to the garmin forum, filtering down to my particular problem somtimes is not so easy. Contacting garmin is not so easy either. At least I can download to my National geographic topo 3D and MTBGuru so far and still learning about gpx files. Allot of fun....
    Liking my foretrex with wrist band, the way it sits on the handle bars, I like the stem clear for hike a bike times. I used a dense foam around the bar (velcroed to the gps band)with a dot of velcro under the bar so it won't rotate. There is plenty of cusion for the gps.
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by cliffover3 View Post