mtbr member

Elevation gain different when downloaded to Motionbase

Does anyone know why the total evation gain on my Edge 305 would different when downloaded to Motionbase? The unit says I gained just over 6000', but the Motionbase site says that I gained just over 6800'.
    Speaking as a completely objective, third party outsider with absolutely no personal interest in the matter...

mtbr member
    I've been using motionbased with my 305 for almost two years.
    motionbased always adds about 10-20% of vertical too all my rides, regardless of settings on either end

On MTBR hiatus :(
    It appears that MB and some other mapping software overlay your recorded GPS route over their terrain database, and recalculate elevation gain based on their contours.

I've selected options to "use GPS elevations" in other software. When viewing this in 3D mode, the result is my tracks are above and below the terrain as depicted. Often where the trail has a consistant incline, which is reflected in my steadily climbing GPS track, the terrain depicted in the 3D view will dip and dive, due to these erroneous contour interpolations.

The thought process may be that contour maps are more accurate than elevation calculations by GPS receivers. In my case, my Vista HCX elevation recordings are "smoothed "due to a built-in barometric altimeter; the non-baro models have "spikier" elevation plots.

In all, I trust my non-GPS, altimeter-equipped bike computer to give me the most accurate elevation gain information for a ride. The inflated Total Gain my GPS spits out is often utter nonsense, and the numbers I see in software is even worse.
    speedub.nate
    MTBR Hiatus UFN

mtbr member
    Thanks for the explanation gents!
    Speaking as a completely objective, third party outsider with absolutely no personal interest in the matter...

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Here's a great example (I don't have the original GPS file handy to show it "in the air").