mtbr member

Considering "upgrading" from FR305 to Edge500

I've been running a FR305 for a couple of years now. It was my jogging/running partner for a couple of years prior, but I gave that up and am now looking for a bike specific GPS, with HR and speed and cadence data recording all in one unit.

Using Garmin connect for my FR305 data has been fine for me also, except for having to correct mileage every time using a cyclocomputer. Arrrgh. GPS cuts out about 10-15% of each rides mileage.

What I don't know is will Garmin connect upload and display all the data from a 500 with HR/cadence/speed( from sensor)? I thought I may have read that cadence is not uploaded or stored?

*edit- I scrolled past calories on my connect site and saw columns for cadence, so I guess it does record/upload it all...

If GC doesn't do all this, who might for the Edge 500.
    Is there a comparable price and performance do it all GPS/HR/cad/spd unit and alternate logging website anyone might suggest I look into?
    Last edited by Noclutch; 11-08-2012 at 08:47 AM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Garmin connect does display all of the data. I have both the FR305 and the Edge 500. I compared them on one ride and it appeared that the Edge 500 was slightly more accurate. The screen on the Edge is much easier to read when riding and I prefer to leave my FR305 set for running and have a dedicated GPS for cycling.

I set the unit to not use Auto Start/Stop, use 1 second recording and I entered my wheel circumference vs. using Auto and letting it calculate.

The Edge 500 is very easy to move between bicycles(up to 3) and it comes with two mounts. You will need to get a second GSC 10 sensor for each bike.

I did buy the K-Edge aluminum mounts for my MTBs though. I prefer having the unit a little further in front and the mount is more secure, in my opinion, than the large rubber o-rings that Garmin provides. I use the stock mount on my road bike.