mtbr member

Complete Novice Question ... Waypoints?

Okay,
    Wanting to get a GPS for my bike this Xmas.
    Here is my question,
    Waypoints....Garmin cycling specific units I have looked at have 100-200 waypoint max. Hiking ones have about 10x as many.
    I know a waypoint is a longitude/latitude intersection.
    So do I use waypoints to map my ride?
    BUT, if I download a route someone else has created, it uses memory on my GPS unit, not waypoints?
    I have read NateHawks sticky and a few other online resources. I want to get this unit to do 100 mile plus rides...
    thanks ....
    You cannot go against nature, because when you do, its part of nature too.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Waypoints.

a waypoint is a point that you (or someone) flags as important in a file. It might be a turn, water supply, Etc Etc. You will not be using waypoints to map your rides. You will simply turn the unit on, ride and let the unit record your route. If you come to somwhere you want to call attention to you can make it a waypoint. Now you can export the file that you just made as a gpx and someone else could view it on thier unit. The GPX would contain thousands data points but only 1 waypoint. There are limits to how big of files the GPS unit can handle. You might want to check the specific unit before you buy, but I have not had any problem uploading 100 mile MTB routes to my garmin gps units.
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

Waypoint, Track, Route. These are the terms you need to know.

Waypoints save a single point. A trailhead, a water stop, campsite, etc.

Tracks save your travels. They are a series of points connected to each other, and the interval between those points can be changed with most GPS receivers (not the Edge 200) depending on the trail and what you're doing.