I just let one RIP

Accurate HRM calorie count - Edge 705 or Polar F6?

I had been using my Polar F6 for a couple years now and had always assumed it gave an accurate estimate of calories burned. I just picked up a Garmin Edge 705 with HRM and Cadence bundle. I noticed that it seemed my calories total seemed higher than usual, so today I did a test.

I put on both the Garmin strap and the Polar strap and went for a 2 1/2 hour ride. Any time I looked at the readings, I saw similar numbers for current heart rate, always within a beat or two. Avg heart rate for the ride on the Garmin was 143bpm, Polar 144bpm; both recorded max rate of 168bpm. But my Polar calculates calories burned at 1646, while my Garmin at 2509!

So I'm wondering which one is likely more accurate. I double checked that both were programmed with my correct weight, and they were.

If it was only 100 or 2 calories different, I wouldn't care. But now, do I need to eat an extra meal? 900 calories is quite a difference!

(I tried to search if anyone has discussed this topic before, but didn't come up with anything.)
    A ride a day keeps the therapist away.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Jwiffle
    If it was only 100 or 2 calories different, I wouldn't care. But now, do I need to eat an extra meal? 900 calories is quite a difference!
    I would say you are eating enough if a 900 kcal difference has not eaten away at you over the last few years.

That is - if you start adding extra meals now, won't you just put on weight?

GeoMan
    Well, you have to understand, calorie counts are a bit "unscientific". For instance, how does your Edge or Polar account for wind conditions (which we all know affects how hard we peddle), temperature conditions (you'll burn more calories if you are hot or cold), or your own personal body metabolism?