mtbr member

VT 2 2004 rear suspension question?

Any of you's VT 2 owners have this setup of rear suspension as mine? My VT 2 suspension is facing downwards but the Giant pics and advertisements are facing upside down. I think it works in the same way but then I'm not a mechanical or designer Engineer bike expert.
    Take a look at Giant site http://www.giant-bicycles.com/au/030...kesection=8787

or check the comparison?
    Attached Images Attached Images

XC rider/racer
    I think the reason why the Swinger is mounted "upside-down" was to allow the seatpost to be dropped without it hitting off the Swinger.

Reviewer/Tester
    My VT-2 has the Swinger 3 way with the big can up top and the slider on the bottom.

R.

mtbr member
    Yep, mine's the same as yours. I wouldn't be surprised if they simply thought it looks better that way for the sake of the pics.

Cheers.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Pictures for catalogs and websites are taken early.

Quote Originally Posted by wannabeRacer
    Any of you's VT 2 owners have this setup of rear suspension as mine? My VT 2 suspension is facing downwards but the Giant pics and advertisements are facing upside down. I think it works in the same way but then I'm not a mechanical or designer Engineer bike expert.

or check the comparison?
    Often the production bike is not available yet and you will even find incorrect components on pics. For example, Giant shows top swing front deraileurs on their '03 NRS's in the catalog but the ones shipped all had bottom swind deraileurs.

mtbr member
    Okie....
    But I still need to know the reason why this is so in Engineering/Physics term or answer?
    Mybe, I should e-mail ginat dirrectly....lol

Thanks for all the replies

mtbr member
    Actually how the shock is mounted doesn't change anything, it works the same way. One benefit of having the air chamber down is that you can slide your seat post further down.