mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Trance X29- Street Pricing?

Hey Everyone,

I'm relatively new to MTBR... I was an avid mtn. bike rider ~10-15 years ago and recently got back into shape and have started to ride again. The bike I ride now was "state of the art" 12 years ago...it's a K2 Carbon full suspension. It still works relatively well but I want disc brakes and more suspension travel. I also worry about all the pivot points of the pro-link fork that probably need servicing and which I can't buy parts for.

Yesterday I went to my lbs and was really impressed with this new Giant bike. I looked specifically at the Trance 1...it was ~$2,700.

My question is, what is a realistic purchase price of bikes these days? Now before I get flamed, I realize the importance of supporting my local bike shop...but at the same time, I don't like paying retail for anything. $2,700 is a lot to pay for a new bike and I'd like to work it down a bit.

On a side note, I have always enjoyed wrenching on my own bikes...I have seriously looked at the Airborne bikes, specifically the upcoming HobGoblin, but I know the maestro suspension system is highly regarded...

FYI, I live in a suburb outside of Los Angeles so I can travel not to far to hit up higher volume dealers if need be...

Thanks in advance for your advice/suggestions!
    Pete

Doesnt ride Banshees