mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Trance X1 or Anthem X1

Hello,

I'm in the market for a new bike.

I'm relatively new to mountain biking. I live in Eagle, CO and there are plenty of singletrack trails to ride here.

I have a 2002 Giant Ranier hardtail which I rode last season. I'm looking for something that is lighter with a full suspension.

My employer had a bike purchase deal with a local bike shop and I can buy a Giant at 10% over dealer cost.

I'm not really interested in racing, just riding the trails. I'm 45 years old, 5'9" 180 lbs.

I'm considering the Trance X1 and the Anthem X1.

Which would be a better fit for my situation?

Thanks!

Alan

mtbr member
    May 2008
    A lot would depend on what your trails are like and what you like to ride - ie long rides, long climbs or more varied aggressive terrain etc. That said, since your not looking to race, I would say the Trance X is a more versatile bike. It will pedal almost as efficient as the anthem but will be quite a bit better when descending and ridden in more aggressive terrain. I've ridden a Trance X for a couple of years now as my xc bike and while it pedals wonderfully on long rides and steep climbs, I am constantly surprised at how capable it is when pushed hard.

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    It entirely depends on what kind of riding you want to do...I would pick the Trance X1 as its an all mountain and you'll definitely appreciate that extra 25mm of travel. With propedal you will only be ever so slower than the anthem on climbs which would only matter if you're a racer.

When I first got into biking, I got the Anthem X, realised I'm not really into climbing, long rides..etc so I sold it for a Reign X which I really enjoy for all mountain, down hill,single tracks and technical trails

mtbr member
    Jun 2009