mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Trance X ... Is this normal? included pics

Hey guys, instead of me staring at my bike wondering if this is normal i wanted to show it to the experts. Im not sure if this is normal or if i possibly bent the rear triangle or rear wheel.

when the bike is flipped upside and you look at the rear wheel it seems somewhat off center. The chainside of the frame measured 1/2 inch between the tire and the frame...the rotor side only measure 3/16 of an inch measured the same. I measured it from right below the knobs on each side.. when i spin the tire i notice that the tread isnt perfect but it measures the same on all spots of tire. i also measured it from the rim and the chain side still has more room.. im not sure if this is normal or if something is wrong.. here are some pics..

here is where i measured it on both sides...

sorry for all the pictures but i wanted to show you what i see....im new to biking so dont bash me too hard if this is just a simple mistake on my part!!! i understand this could be a defected tire or something else, but i wanted to make sure that the frame isnt built this way on purpose, or if both sides of the rear triangle are normally built identical.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    The rear wheel my be out of dish. That means the rim is offset to one side over the hub. Have you shop check it out.

OTB 1 Tree=2 frac vert
    I have the same bike. Love it!! I have taken a few good spills and had no problems from them. Even the rims have stayed true thru all the riding. I am quite fussy with how my bike is maintained. The problem could come from not seating the axles inthe hangers all the way. That puts the wheel in crooked. Also make sure your quick release skewers are TIGHT. Good luck

mtbr member

mine does the same

I've toyed with positioning the wheel in the dropouts and skewer tightness. Nothing makes a difference. I'm going to take it into the lbs and see what they find. anyone else have this problem?

mtbr member