mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Trance X for 5'11" Rider (yet another sizing thread...)

If you ride a Trance and are around 5'11" what size are you on? When I look at the geometry it seems that I should be on a large but the demo bike that I rode was a medium and it felt great (the seat was pretty far back though).
    One dealer is telling me that a medium is the way to go (he only has medium's in stock) and another dealer is telling me I should be on a large (this is the place that let me borrow the demo bike and he has both medium and large bikes in stock).
    Thanks in advance for your help!

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    Don't get me wrong here, I'm no expert, there'll be better advice than mine out there I'm sure, BUT....

From everything I've read and heard, 5'11" is right on the border of medium or large...I'm 5'8" and I'm close to a small but more of a medium. Remember not every 5'11" is the same, longer torso or longer legs...

Having said that, if it felt great, it's probably right, but sit on a large just to be sure. However, I've also heard, and it makes sense, that if borderline, get the smaller one AS LONG AS it truly can be fitted properly, which makes sense as you are saving a fraction of weight.

My only experience with the borderline thing is demoing a small Anthem, and it was fairly clear that I wanted to be stretched out a bit more.

mtbr member
    I ride a large trance x2 and i'm 5'11. Feels good for me

May contain nuts
    Also 5'11" (longish torso) and the large TX is perfect. Run it with a 90mm stem. The TX has a long headtube so it tends to make for a compact cockpit.

M070R-M0U7H FR3NCHI3
    I'm 5'11" and ride a Med with a 70mm stem.

siv
    mtbr member