mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Trance 3 '07 Poor handling - your thoughts please

Hi,

I'm no pro rider i'll admit, but i've had a series of scary moments on this bike ending with the grand finale last night of head butting a tree full on whilst the bike somersalted 20 foot down an embankment

There appears to be no control over the front end. It's kinda hard to explain really. Its like when you turn into a corner the bike wants to keep going straight ahead if you know what i mean. Riding and cornering on loose gravel is very very scary.

I cant figure what is causing it. Is it the Kenda Blue Groove tyres, the long stock stem or the rubbish Rockshox Tora forks or a combination of all three?

Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated

Thank

Stu

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Are you just switching over from a hardtail? How long have you been riding?

I just swapped from a HT diamonback to a Trance X2 and it takes a while to learn a new bike. Part of my problem was I didn't realize how much faster I was really going on the new bike - the "gee I'm not bouncing of the seat so I must be going slow" mentality took a while to go away for me.

I did notice I have to run lower air pressure in the front than I've been used to on my old bike too. I even swapped back to the same tires I was used to, but ended up dropping about 5psi to get the same well planted feel I was used to. Not sure if the geometry just makes the front want to push more, or if I was using more body lean on the old bike or what - but with the lower pressure and a couple weeks getting used to the new bike I feel just as nimble as I used to.

Johny Sokko!