mtbr member

Servicing Trance X 29-1 shock

I'm at the interval where my Fox Float rear shock will require basic servicing, as in a seal service. I've seen a couple videos on the web about doing this and it looks very straightforward. My questions are (1) has anyone done this on the 1 or 0 themselves, and (2) is it possible to remove the shock without removing the crankset? I'm a novice at servicing bikes but I'm a quick study and like the aspect of working on my own bike. Plus, the lbs where I bought it isn't exactly around the corner.

Maybe someone could list some quick steps and any special tools I'd need. Probably a 0.25" torque wrench is needed. Thanks for any advice.
    Please donate to IMBA or your local chapter. It's trail karma.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I serviced my 2011 Trance rear shock (Fox RP2) earlier this year - was the first time for me. I ended up removing the cranks (wasn't sure I needed to but thought it better safe than sorry), which needed a really good clean anyway (lots of dirt in where you can't access without removing) and this was quick and straight forward.

I then removed the shock (air let out first) being careful to note (take photos) where the various bolts, washers and bearings went.

I followed a youtube video (can't remember which one) and I didn't have any problems, so I'd say go for it. I replaced the seals and added new float fluid, etc.

I'd recommend using a torque wrench to re-assemble the linkage/shock mounts and you'll probably need to use locktite on the threads - you'll know when you take the shock out as you'll see blue loctite on the threads then.

mtbr member

Servicing Trance X 29-1 shock

Awesome, thanks dischucker. Regarding the cranks, did this require a crank puller? It doesn't appear so on the SRAM service document but I'm just wondering what you used.