mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Reign Shock Link on Trance 29er

I bought a Trance 29er X0 a few months ago. I had the bike shop upgrade the fork to a Fox 34 140, along with a few other changes.

I have been riding a Reign since 2008. The Reign has a Marzocchi 160 RC3 Ti fork and a Pushed 2.25” Monarch Plus shock with 6 5/8” rear travel, so I have been spoiled for suspension. The Trance rear suspension did not have the bottomless feel that my Reign has, as it has almost 2” less travel.

It turns out that a 2011 Reign rocker bolted right onto my XL Trance 29er. Reign Shock Link on Trance 29er-2013_01_12_3104-link-overlay.jpg
    The Reign rocker increases travel from about 120mm to about 143mm. The uncompressed ride height remains exactly the same, and all of the increased travel is at maximum compression. The linkages appear to be operating well within their proper ranges. The top of the shock comes within about 1mm or so of the seat tube at maximum extension. Reign Shock Link on Trance 29er-2013_01_12_3102-shock-clearance.jpg
    The crossbar on the rear triangle comes within about 1.5mm of the seat tube at maximum compression with the shock deflated and my son sitting on the seat.Reign Shock Link on Trance 29er-2013_01_12_3115-triangle-clearance.jpg
    Note: Given normal manufacturing tolerances and the tight clearances, it would not be surprising to see interference on some bikes at the top of the shock or at the rear triangle crossbar to the seat tube.

I am 6’4” and 245lb. With the Trance linkage, I ran 250lb air in the shock for 30% sag. With the Reign link I added 6ml of float fluid to the shock air can, and went to 285 psi, which gives me 25% sag, and the identical loaded ride height. I closed the rebound damping down two clicks tighter.