Global Warming is a HOAX

Ordered a Trance X1!

Well, I tried. I went to the local bike shops and tried to get an X1. The one up in Belmont (name withheld) wouldn't deal; their idea of a discount was 10%. Sorry, Charlie.

The one in San Jose I've been going to for other things can't even get an X1 for less than full list. Again, sorry Charlie.

So I ordered one through a vendor on eBay... shipped to me, new in the box, for $2k. That's more than $700 off list. I can do the assembly and setup myself; the only thing I'm not good at is derailleurs, so it might go to REI for that.

It'll be a month before I see it, because they're holding it for me until my next paycheck comes that I have play money in. I just bought a car last weekend so my NEXT check's play money is already spent.

BTW if anybody wants the Hayes Stroker Trail brakes off of it, PM me, because they're going on eBay. Replacing 'em with Formula Oros.

I really wanted to support the LBS, but I couldn't see spending $600-800 more (price diff + tax).

Rob

mtbr member
    [SIZE=2]Iím sure youíll love it. 10% off is a fairly standard discount that nice shops give, Iíd be interested to hear from any Giant dealers on here/anyone who knows what the mark-up is = how much the shop pays for the bike and what their profit is?

Iíd be glad to take the Strokerís off your hands but oddly for the first time ever I have 3 sets of working brakes on my bikes.

But you got a very good deal and the bike you wanted in te end.
    [/SIZE]

Global Warming is a HOAX
    Thanks! Yeah I'm really looking forward to it.