mtbr member
    Jan 2012

New to me - 2009 Giant XtC 2

I recently bought a used 2009 Giant XtC 2 from Craigslist. I did my research on this bike before I went to look at it, and figured it was what I was looking for based on the components and I'm an entry level beginner rider. Well, when I looked at it it had different components than what was spec'd on various websites that I've seen. Specifically, the derailleurs have been switched out. The websites all have SRAM X.5 on it, but it had a $20 Shimano Altus actually on it. I couldn't find a name on the front derailleur. And the cassette is black, not silver like in the pics I've seen. I think there are 7 speeds x 3 = 21? Also the crank set doesn't have a name on it, that I've seen yet. The front shock (broken lockout) and disk brakes are the same as spec'd. Everything else looked fine, the frame is in excellent condition, brakes work good, and it shifts easy.
    I rode it for a few miles last night (not on a trail) and it rode great, even going over curbs. I figured I could upgrade the derailleurs when needed.
    I talked the guy down from $350 to $250 because of the switched out parts.

So my questions are....
    1. In your opinion, is this a good price for a Giant with those components?
    2. If I ever was to upgrade the derailleurs, is that even possible on this bike?
    3. Do I have to upgrade both at once, or can I do each separately? Do I have to change out the whole system (derailleurs, cassette, and shifter)?
    4. What is a good derailleur for an entry level person? Should I go back with a SRAM X5 or X7, or something different like a Shimano Deore XT or SLX?

Sorry for the noob questions!

mtbr member
    1. Would say that $250 isn't a bad deal for a ~4 y/o whole bike.

2. Derailleurs can be changed when broken or when you want, just make sure that your shifters are compatible with them.