Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Bonking ... not feelin' well Medium size giant trance x2 2013 for 173cm height

hi all,

I was a newbie when purchasing the trance x2 2013 and somehow I bought the medium size (my height is 173cm).
    it's a great bike, I enjoyed it a lot when climbing but feel it's a bit hard to control during descend or bumpy trial.

I feel it's partly because of oversized for me and so as the other said, but I don't want to resell/repurchase as it would cost me a lot.

any idea how can I minimize the oversizing problem?
    I have trimmed a bit the seatpost.
    would shorter stem / wider bar bring me better control?

mtbr member
    Medium sounds alright for your height. Are you running the correct sag, rebound and tire pressures? Those make a lot of difference.
    2010 Giant Trance X3
    2013 Giant Reign 1

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Medium should theoretically be OK for you. If however you want to improve your control on descents and bumly trails you can do the following.

1. As mentioned before check your fork, shock and tire pressure.
    2. Make sure that you have the correct rebound settings so the fork and shock don't behave as a pogo stick. I prefer to run my shock with slower rebound than my fork.
    3. Buy a shorter stem and place it upright.
    4. Buy a wider handlebar. I use a 50mm stem and 780mm riser bar but this is just me.
    5. Buy a dropper post so you can position yourself better when riding trials.

Usually you can't correct a wrong size by replacing stems etc but in your case since the size isn't wrong it is more about fine tuning.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by aizen View Post
    Medium sounds alright for your height. Are you running the correct sag, rebound and tire pressures? Those make a lot of difference.
    Hi Aizen, phew! you ease my worry!