mtbr member
    May 2012

Giant's ugly looking welds

Does anyone know why Giant doesn't clean up the welds on their bike frames? The bikes would look much nicer with some cleaned up frame welds. They do it for other Companies frames they build like the 9ers.

I'd gladly pay a bit extra for a nicer looking frame.

mtbr member
    May 2006

Re: Giant's ugly looking welds

It's a weld. Who cares as long as it's strong.
    http://Theclydeblog.org Big guy cycling product tester

mtbr member
    May 2012
    I do that's why I asked. It makes the bike look like it was welded by a 3rd grader.

mtbr member
    do you have a closeup pic of an example? i'm new to the sport so i haven't noticed. and maybe a pic of the same area on another bike that the welds look more acceptable.
    2013 Giant Trance X29 2
    2012 Specialized Hardrock Disc 29er

Slower But Faster
    My Reign X welding is excellent, couldn't ask for better. I'd rather have welds with good penetration and no slag inclusion than looking good cosmetically but in my case I have both. I wouldn't want anyone removing metal from a weld simply to look pretty and risk compromising its strength.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010

The welds on my Reign look fantastic... Post up some pics, I'd be interested to see what's bugging you.

The short answer is it takes a LOT more work to clean/smooth the welds. That translates to additional cost. I presume that's the primary reason. I am glad they don't go through that exercise... The industry has its fair share of overpriced frames, I'm glad Giant still offers "affordable" bikes.

-jm

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

cowbell
    Yeah. I'm no artist with a welder, but I can sure put something together, gas, GMAW, or MIG. And all the welds on my Anthem look very good to me. I'd be proud to have made any of them.

My Brain Hurts!