Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Giant Revel 1 vs Revel 0

Hey guys,

Is there any major difference why I would want to spend the extra money for the Revel 0? I am a beginner and would really know what to look for.

Here are the specs from Giant:

Revel 1: Revel 1 (Charcoal/Red) (2012) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

Revel 0: Revel 0 (2012) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

Thank you.

mtbr member
    The difference is in the quality of the drive train components, brakes and fork, the rest is about the same.

Pick the one you can afford and upgrade as components wear off or break.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    so there isn't a significant enough difference to buy the Revel 0 pretty much?

Go Speed Racer
    Quote Originally Posted by Joey Jiggles View Post
    so there isn't a significant enough difference to buy the Revel 0 pretty much?
    For me that flat black paint job would be enough to convince me!

Well, that and the fact that the 0 comes with a RockShox and the 1 comes with SR Suntour fork. SR Suntour forks SUCK. Not to mention that the RockShox has a lockout feature and the SR Suntour one does not. Locking out the fork on climbs well help you out, I know I use it on mine all the time.

KC Weekend Warrior
    I got a Rincon (immediate previous incarnation of the Revel) in 2010 and almost immediately HAD to replace the crank set and rear derailleur due to failure and upgraded the fork and tires for performance reasons - the OE Suntour was a pogo stick. All in all I have about $1500 invested in what was originally a $500 entry level bike. Is it a sweet ride - YES, I love it - should I have bought a higher level of components right off the bat - YES.