mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Giant OEM Parts VS. Upgrades ( Where to buy and how to determine what is Compatible?

Hello,

I am a noob so sorry for basic question.

First, I believe I have just purchased a 2013 Revel 3 Mountain bike from Louis & Clark. ( the Blue/White/Black)

These are the first basic things I am trying to figure out:

1) Find a PDF doc or something that explains and tells me the name of every part on the bike.

2) I am trying to find a site to get GIANT OEM Parts, or a dealer parts book with part numbers or something.

3) I am trying to know how to figure out what parts, brand, manufacter, make, model parts I have on my bike without going back to the bike shop every day. I realize they want to service the bike and probably dont really want to give me information.

4) A good list of tools every DIY MNTN should have.

Currently I have a question about about the name of the part that goes through the hole in the frame between the forks and the handlebars, where the stem mounts.
    Is this actually part of the forks or is the tube replaceable because my bike handlebars have already been raised as high as I can get them and I want to ride about 1 1/2 inches higher as I am mostly doing street riding and want a more commuter or less agressive possition on the handle bars , and also I have a old hand injury and the stress on my hand I am trying to decrease.

Am I confused? Do I need to just get a different stem and not get a tube that is longer?

Thank You,

Wayne

mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Giant OEM Parts VS. Upgrades ( Where to buy and how to determine what is Compat