Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Giant Mistake??? Anthem 27 vs 29

With all the hype, I have dying to jump aboard a 27.5 bike. My local shop just happened to be hosting a demo of Anthem 27 3's and Trance27 3's.

Little background. I have been riding 29er's for over 3 years and have a good amount of local racing under my belt. I currently own a Large Anthem X 29 1 with all Fox/Shimano components. I am a hair over 6 foot and have a monster natural inseam of 35", so I always fall b/t Large and XL. The geo on the Anthem 29 allows me to get away with a Large.

Showed up to the demo and sure enough they had a Large 27.5 Anthem ready to go… The color scheme and look of the 27.5 3 Anthem is sweet! especially with the internal cable routing. Very respectable build at the price point.

First thing to mention, if you have long legs like me, the seat post runs much shorter on the Large 27.5 Anthem. If I was to buy a 27.5, I would go XL. Make sure you throw a leg over this bike if your a tweener before buying. When I first jumped on, I didn't feel like I was that overwhelmed in the difference in wheel size. One thing that did stand out was the slack head angle, definitely made the cockpit feel comfortable.