Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Giant MCM SE Is it worth it?

8K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  Stratomaster10 
#1 ·
Hello...This is my first post here on MTBR. I was hoping someone could help me out as I am A novist. For sale is A 1999-2000 Giant MCM SE. (Hardtail) I understand this may be A good buy only if there is nothing wrong with the frame (cracks, etc...) It is Carbon Fiber Team Edition, XT and XTR components, Judy SL fork, Magura Disc (hydraulic), Time Carbon clipless, and Rat Traps.
The seller is including A couple extra sets of clipless pedals, (don't know what kind), A full box of tools, floor pump, helmet, and A couple other odds and ends. He says it is built for XC racing.
The seller is aking $600.00 non neg.
I am new to riding, don't know much about bikes, but I do know that I want A hardtail.
Is this A good/decent deal (if there are no issues with frame, components, etc..)
Thanks for helping me out

Attachments

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I would pass. 600$ for a 10 year old bike that MSRP'd for ~ 1800$ is too much.

The brakes may need a bleed, the fork may need servicing, etc. And if you don't know how to do all this the cost can add up quickly (although bleeds/general maintenance is relatively easy once you learn).

Very hard to detect small cracks in carbon, especially of you don't know where to look (close to, underneath clamping surfaces, BB and tube junction areas). Although same said for almost any material. But I'd be wary of carbon frames of which I didn't know the riding history.

A new XTC2 (nice racing hardtail frame) MSRP's for ~850$ US, should be able to get it for lower.

The recreational bikes (boulder, rincon) go for even less.

*edit* I just found the original add........he stated "could also be used for commuting or free riding. $700 obo. Price is very negotiable"

I would definitely not use that bike for free riding. But if the price is "very negotiable", I'd offer 300$.....maybe.

*edit#2*