mtbr member
    May 2004

Giant Iguana fork question

I'm ready to buy a mountain bike, haven't had one for almost five years. I've done my research and for the money, I think the Giant Iguana is the best buy and I like the local shop that carries them. My only question is about the shocks. In the Giant catalog, the Iguana is pictured with a Rock Shocks Pilot C shock. The store has them equiped with Manitou Six shocks. Is one any better than the other?

Thanks!

Jesus Freak
    Apr 2004

I can only speak to the Pilot C...

cause it's what I have. I've no experience with the Manitou. All I can say is that the Pilot C is not very plush and really only takes care of the really hard hits. I've messed with the preload constantly and finally just left it alone.

Having said that I really love the bike. It is quick and light and has taken quite a beating with no fuss other than a couple of flats which can be expected. I have the stock Alex rims and they demand quite a bit of truing but I can live with that for now. The BB became loose after about the first month but I tightened it and have had no further issues. I did recently change out the seatpost to a Thompson elite(recommended ) and may soon change out the stem. It is a great buy IMO.

Dave ><>

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by jrjimenez1
    I'm ready to buy a mountain bike, haven't had one for almost five years. I've done my research and for the money, I think the Giant Iguana is the best buy and I like the local shop that carries them. My only question is about the shocks. In the Giant catalog, the Iguana is pictured with a Rock Shocks Pilot C shock. The store has them equiped with Manitou Six shocks. Is one any better than the other?

Thanks!