mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Fox Vanilla R and Trance???

This may sound stupid at first, but follow me here. I recently had the Float R on my Trance 2 crap the bed on me mid-ride. The shock compressed, bottomed out in it's travel, and never rebounded!!! I just sent in the Float for service today, but I have been thinking about getting another shock as a back-up for situations like these. I've been racing downhill and moto x for over 8 years now and love the feel of coil. Don't get me wrong, the air shock is nice, but I don't feel as though it's as plush as I would like. So, I have been thinking about the Vanilla R in the 6.5x1.5 variety. Would the Vanilla R and coils of the spring clear the frame/lower mount on the Trance?

MBAA!
    I do believe it would clear... but am not 100% sure. It may not but it really isnt all too much bigger than an air shock. I dont know about the coil shocks... does that one have an oil reservoir? If it does it may not be able to compress without hitting the downtube.

So your shock bottomed out and never rebounded? Did the linkage bind anywhere? Sounds like it went down at an angle it wasnt intended to go, and shifted as it bottomed out and couldnt go back... then again, I could just be crazy.
    One of my friends recently died of a coke overdose and it really got me thinking, "damn, maybe I should start drinking pepsi"

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by en are es
    I do believe it would clear... but am not 100% sure. It may not but it really isnt all too much bigger than an air shock. I dont know about the coil shocks... does that one have an oil reservoir? If it does it may not be able to compress without hitting the downtube.

So your shock bottomed out and never rebounded? Did the linkage bind anywhere? Sounds like it went down at an angle it wasnt intended to go, and shifted as it bottomed out and couldnt go back... then again, I could just be crazy.