mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Can someone help me please?

Hi everyone, I'm new to the world of MTB and I need help from you to choose my first bike. I'm gonna ride in beginner trails to start, maybe ride once or twice a week. I'm 5'10'' and about 150lbs (if that can help). I'm from around Montreal, Canada. I have around 800$ to 900$ to put on a bike.

The guy at my LBS suggest me the Giant Revel 29er 0, wich is 699$.
    I know the fork is not very good, I plan on ungrading it with a RockSox XC 30 TK (164$) or a RockShox XC TK Mg 29'' (150$). Then, upgrade some other parts as the time goes on and stuff breaks on it.

I'm also looking at the Giant Talon 29er 1 (879$) because there's a better fork that I might not change at the start and also the Giant Talon 29er 0 (1099$). I know the Talon 0 is more than the 900$ budget I have but I will have less upgrades to do so, at the end, it might be less expensive. They're all 2013 model.

Here's the spec:

Revel 29er 0 (2013) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | Canada
    Talon 29er 0 (2013) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | Canada
    Talon 29er 1 (2013) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | Canada

What do you guys think of all this? Are those good choices? Wich one should I choose? Do you have any suggestions?

Around here the easiest bikes to find are Giant, Cannondale, Trek, Devinci.

Thank you for your help.

Owner Epic Biking
    If you can swing it, go for the Talon 29er 0. Between the much better fork, the Shimano brakes, and the 10 speed drive train I think the 0 is well worth the upgraded. Also being a 10 speed means if you want to upgrade shifters, derailleurs, etc. you can do it one piece at a time. With the 9 speed you would have to replace everything at the same time since you can't mix 9 speed and 10 speed components and have it work right.
    www.epicbiking.com
    I'll be riding a bike to the South Pole, check it out at:
    GoFundMe
    blog
    Facebook page

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Just stop right there.