mtbr member
    May 2012

Anthem x1 29er Fox shock settings

I'm 200 lbs fully loaded on my bike. I'm set at 200 psi rear shock and 60 psi front. I got about 25-30% sag on the front.

I get full travel on rear and have about an inch to spare on the front. I have to go down to about 50 psi to get full travel.

75 or 70 psi "feels" good to me. What seems strange is that from about 80 psi right down to 50 psi I have an inch of travel left after riding. What really seems strange is that right at 50 psi I get full travel, at 51 psi I still have an inch?

I'm a civil engineer, so springs and shocks are not my specialty, lol.

It seems like maybe my shock is defective?

Thanks Bill
    Last edited by Billinsd; 11-06-2012 at 07:32 AM.

mtbr member
    What year is your bike and what fork are you running?

My 2011 has the Fox Float 29 and these are notorious for not getting full travel due to oil migration. The mod to fix this has been discussed in the shock/suspension forum. I'm sending mine out for service and the air chamber mod.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by BacDoc View Post
    What year is your bike and what fork are you running?

My 2011 has the Fox Float 29 and these are notorious for not getting full travel due to oil migration. The mod to fix this has been discussed in the shock/suspension forum. I'm sending mine out for service and the air chamber mod.
    My bike is 2012, and it's got the Fox Float 29. I called Fox again yesterday and explained the situation and they told me to send it in. I asked if it was common and they said no.

I'll look for some threads in the shock forum.

Thanks Bill

mtbr member
    Bill,
    There are a couple of threads about this in the suspension forum. One is about modifying air volume to get full travel and another one about oil migration into the air chamber. From the number of pages in these threads I would say its very common.