mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Anthem 29er or Trance 29er ??

I'm narrowing down the search for a full suspension 29er. I was surprised to see the Anthem and the Trance? I live in the Phoenix Metro area and the riding around here is cross country with rocks, hills with rocks and technical with rocks. I guess I would say that I'm more of a trail rider than someone that negotiates the rocky tech stuff, but my friends will probably drag me through most anything at some time. . I'm a noob, I moved here in March which is when I started mountain biking on a new 2011 Giant XTC 29er hard tail.
    So what are the differences between the Anthem 29er 1 and the Trance 29er1 ??
    What is your personal preference?
    Last edited by Licketysplit; 12-13-2012 at 02:05 PM.

Team Velveeta™

race .vs trail .vs all mountain

Quote Originally Posted by Licketysplit View Post
    I'm narrowing down the search for a full suspension 29er. I was surprised to see the Anthem and the Trance? I live in the Phoenix Metro area and the riding around here is cross country with rocks, hills with rocks and technical with rocks. I guess I would say that I'm more of a trail rider than someone that negotiates the rocky tech stuff, but my friends will probably drag me through most anything at some time. . I'm a noob, I moved here in March which is when I started mountain biking on a new 2011 Giant XTC 29er hard tail.
    So what are the differences between the Anthem 29er 1 and the Trance 29er1 ??
    What is your personal preference?
    Anthem is more XC/XC Endurance race bike, Trance is a trail bike. Anthem is shorter travel front and rear, steeper and quicker steering. Trance is a little longer travel and a little slacker and more stable.

I'd guess that, having seen the Phoenix area riding, and not hearing you say that you are a racer, you are either Trance or Reign.