mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Another Trance X Sizing Thread...Sorry!

Ok...Demoed a Medium Trance X2...absolutely awesome bike, better than I could have imagined. Fit great, just right I think, though I am fairly new to all this.

I am looking at getting an X1 now, and the LBS told me I should consider a small because of the shorter wheelbase and more nimbleness, a I am on the borderline height-wise. I am 5'8" with no shoes, closer to 5'9" with my shoes. Like I said, the demo bike in Medium felt great, and he let me try a small in the lot, felt a bit cramped. So he put a setback seat post on it, so the reach was the same as the Medium frame. So now I'm confused. Should I go with what I know worked well for me (medium), or get the small based on my parking lot ride?

My question is...who out there is my height and what do you ride. I already had a pm voting small, but I'd love to hear some more opinions. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

since the Trance X is meant for heavy XC to light AM use,

I always go for the longest wheelbase with the shortest top tube I can get, since I am short, about 5'6"- long wheelbase is great for high speed stability. You also do not want any problems with your feet making contact with the front tire, especially when turning! I have owned a 15" Reign, have a 14.5" Anthem, and would ride a small TranceX ( I testrode one). Both of my bikes have setback seatposts and 75mm stems. I would think you are definately a medium. You should be centered on the bike, not with your ass hanging over the rear tire, or nose over the front stem, and definately not feeling "cramped." Whatever you do, do not buy the bike until YOU are positive it is the correct size for you, even if the small size is on triple clearance sale- it is not worth buying the wrong size at any price.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    im ~5'8". went with a small.

i was looking for nimble.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006