mtbr member
    Jul 2017

2018 Anthem vs Trance 3 for novice

Hi people. I'm ready to go FS! Currently have a HT Fuji. Based on LBS availability and value for dollars I'm leaning towards Giant. I have the Trance 3 and the Anthem 3 in my sights.

I'm asking for guidance so that I don't over or under bike myself. I'm still a beginner and ride blues in GA, mostly at Big Creek. I don't jump (yet). Absolutely no lift riding. I'm hooked into the sport so I hope to get better and more aggressive over time.

Thoughts?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

NedwannaB
    Without knowing trails, go Anthem if more XC, Trance if more downs than ups.

As for value, if you have a little more in your budget, go with the 2 models. Either bike better value with the components.
    Last edited by JMac47; 3 Weeks Ago at 09:43 AM. Reason: Typo
    Wait whuuut, who did he tell you that!?!?....

mtbr member
    Both are great bikes, especially at the price that Giant sells them. The 27.5 Anthem is a Trail to XC screamer. That bike is fast. The Trance pays off I you ride somewhere with longer downhills. We sell a lot of Trances in northern UT, but we also have big mountains.
    Pivot Firebird
    Hightower 29
    Tallboy 3
    Pivot LES SS
    Salsa Beargrease C
    Giant TCX

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    Trance is a more of do all bike. I'd go Trance all day. My wife has one. It covers so many bases.

mtbr member
    May 2015
    I have a 2014 Trance and 2017 Top Fuel (roughly equiv to an Anthem). Get the Trance. Hands down. Particularly given you are a novice. I demo'd an Anthem last weekend. I've never been on such a stiff bike before. Bit harsh for my aging body. Locking out the suspension was a 100% complete lockout meaning I would never use it unless I was traveling via paved trail.