Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2005

2014 Giant Trance SX reviews and setup info

I have a 2014 Trance SX that should arrive later this week. I am stoked to get out on in and give it a go. Although I have only sat on bike in the shop, I am confident that I will like the bike as I have been on a number of Giant bikes with Maestro suspension. I am coming from a 2010 Reign, which I liked as well, but had to give the kool-aid a try.

As much as the Trance SX Advanced would have been my choice the budget did not allow it, so it was really between the Trance 27.5 1 and the Trance SX. The 27.5 1 has a better drivetrain, but the SX has the 160/140 fork and what looks to be a better wheelset for more agressive riding.

I have a few items that I will change out right from the get go. I am going to bring my KS Lev (5" non internal routing). The Giant post is internal routing but only 4" drop. I have been using KS posts for a few years now and like how they work.

Will add a front D along with a SLX shifter set and a 3 x 10 SLX crankset that I will run 2 x 10 with a bash. I need the lower gears for climbing. I had considered the 40 or 42 rear cog with the 1 x 10 setup, but decided to go with what I know.

I have a set of new XT brakes that I will bolt on. I will leave the stock rotors for now, but will likely change out to 200/180 setup that I have used in the past.

For now I will give the stock fork and shock a go, but may try my Vector HLR Air (have heard it may not fit).

The stem and riser bar I will ride it and give it a go. Hopefully the length of the stem is ok (close to what I ride now) as the Overdrive-2 sizing makes it harder to change. The stock low rise bar will likely go as well as I like 30-35mm rise and 740-740 bar width.