mtbr member
    Jun 2008

2008 Alias & Talon

Hey there,
    I am looking into getting a new bike and i was looking at the 2008 Giant Alias and the 2008 Giant Talon. The Talon is $300 more than the Alias at my local bike shop, why is this?
    What separates the two so much that is worth $300

Also does the 2008 Yukon FX have cable disc brakes or hydraulic??

Thanks a lot, Daniel

The Notorious S.L.O

Check the specs on the webpage.....

BT
    11 Trek Hifi Delux 23in
    05 Giant NRS 22.5in
    Evergreen Co.
    "All I need is.......two wheels and the truth."

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    that doesnt really help me, i can see that but im no expert with bikes and i wanted to know whether there were any major differences or just some parts are better than others, like suspension etc.

Thanks, Daniel

mtbr member
    May 2008
    talon has better shocks and running gear, also the blue/white version is pretty sexy. id say its worth the extra cash. Yea the yukon fx has mechanical breaks rather than hydraulic. I recently bought a 08 talon only to realise i shouldnlt have been such a tight ass and bought a trance X1.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    thanks for that, the trance X1 is like $2,900, thats a huge gap from the Talon

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    well it turns out that my local bike shop is also a big Scott seller so i was looking at the Scott Aspect 10, thats $1,400......How does this compare with the Talon???
    Are scott bikes as nice a quality as Giant??

Thanks, Daniel

mtbr member
    May 2008
    basically the same parts on em. give both a ride and see which one feels better. although the talon has the air sprung tora's, and costs a bit less.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    what are air sprung tora's????
    Are they better or worse than whats on the Scott bike?
    I no nothing about the technical side of bikes, so sorry for being such a newb.

Thanks for all the help, Daniel

Giddy Up!
    Quote Originally Posted by legine
    what are air sprung tora's????