mtbr member
    Sep 2008

09 Anthem X Tire Q

Got an X2 sitting in the living room, haven't been able to ride much due to weather. I'm not a tire expert but the Michelin XC Dry2 seems a bit small for the front. Any opinions of these tires? For me its a pleasure bike, I don't race, and like to ride SW Colorado single track.

I was thinking of getting something more aggresive for the front and use the XCD2 as a rear replacement for when I wear the existing one out. I was thinking of a Nevegal (26x2.1) since they get alot of good reviews but I'm not sure whether to get the DTC or stick-e compound. Any set up recommendations regarding tire model/size/compound would be appreciated.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    In USA it seems that people prefer relatively narrow tyres. In Germany the trend is to go for wider tyres - 2.25 (e.g. Schwalbe Nobby Nic) is nearly standard. I prefer a 2.4 tyre for the front (Conti Mountain King Supersonic) and 2.25 (Schwalbe Racing Ralph) on the rear. They are better in most aspects: damping, snakebites, grip, rolling resistance on rougher terrain.

Hugged a Yeti Today?

DTCs 2.1 on X2