Thread: 08 Rincon

Billings, Montana
    May 2008

08 Rincon

Hey guys, I just bought my first mountain bike. It's the Olive/black Rincon with the "hard surface?" tires. My plan for it is to help me get back into shape, and because I raced bmx and had a lot of fun on the dirt jump trails growing up, I would like to start riding agressive jumps again someday. I really like this bike, and it fit my budget perfectly, but I can tell that some of the components are cheaper to keep the cost down. SO my question is because I am new to this is what should I upgrade to without getting ridiculous. I can tell the fork is a weak point, but I have no idea what I should plan for later. Can anyone point me in the right direction as far as a fork that will fit and provide better damping, and brakes that have a little more grunt, and any other suggestions?

At some point I imagine getting into free riding, but i'm not 17 anymore so probably no huge hits... =P

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Hi,

I have the 2008 Rincon and really like it. Since I got it in February, I upgraded a lot...I now run a 1X8 drive train, with SRAM Attack shifter and Avid break levers. The rear break was changed by Giant with a BB5 after the stock one broke (Giant has great customer service). I then changed the front break with a BB 7. BB 7=great cheap breaks (read the reviews on MTBR.com).